The Butterfly Life Cycle 

Author: Charmaine Leavell

bright, insect, wings

This short story will teach you about the butterfly life cycle which is called a complete metamorphosis. This book will teach you about what occurs during each life stage. 

Look at the bottom of the page. The coaches below will help you throughout the story. Click on each coach to learn how they will help you during this story. 

Also, each word that is black and underlined, feel free to click on those words. They will provide you the definition of the word if you're not sure what it means. 

There are FIVE stages in the butterfly life cycle. 

The first stage of the butterfly life cycle is the EGG. The egg is a tiny, round, or oval, object, usually with fine ribs and other microscopic  structures. 

The second stage of the butterfly is when it turns into a caterpillar. The caterpillar (or larva) is the long, worm-like stage of the butterfly or moth. It often has a pattern of stripes or patches, and it may have spine-like hairs.

The caterpillar is the feeding and growth stage. As it grows, it sheds its skin four or more times so as to enclose its rapidly growing body.

After the caterpillar stage, the caterpillar then transforms into the chrysalis (or pupa). The third stage is called the transformation stage.  

During this stage, the caterpillar slowly becomes an adult,  its insect's structures are forming.

The chrysalis of most species  is brown or green and blends into the background. Many species overwinter  in this stage.

In stage 5, the FINAL STAGE, the adult becomes a colorful butterfly. This is the reproductive  stage for the species.  The adults undergo courtship, mating, and egg-laying.

The adult butterfly or moth is also the stage that migrates  or colonizes new habitats.  

The butterfly pictured here is a Monarch, which is fairly large in size. 




Miss Sally's Class Blog